Skip to main content
News article15 November 2023UNE

It's the perfect time to participate in standardisation!

There is a whole programme of standards on accessibility that is still in its initial stages of development. This means that now is the right time if you want to contribute effectively to its drafting. 

Decorative image

The three European Standardisation Organisations – CEN, CENELEC and ETSI – are developing three brand new standards and reviewing three existing ones, as well as reviewing two supplementary Technical Specifications in the fields of Universal Design, digital accessibility, accessibility of the built environment and accessibility and interoperability of emergency communications. 

The main outcome of this programme will be six harmonised European standards that will give presumption of conformity with the essential requirements of the European Accessibility Act, the Directive on the accessibility of products and services. In fact, these standardisation works have been launched with the impulse of the European Commission (EC) and of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

All relevant stakeholders are called to contribute to the consensus building of these important works, contributing with their technical knowledge and perspectives: manufacturers, service providers, designers, consultants, Public Administration, etc. If there is a key group of stakeholders that needs to be heard, that is the Organisations of Persons with Disabilities.

From AccessibleEU we would like to encourage you to participate in the development of these standards that will support the public policies of the European Union. Isn´t it an exciting goal? In order to help you to navigate in this field that might be new for you, we have drafted a simple document giving you the key information to get started. You can find Accessibility Standards at European Level in our website. Enjoy it!


Publication date
15 November 2023